Engineering & Mining Journal

APR 2019

Engineering and Mining Journal - Whether the market is copper, gold, nickel, iron ore, lead/zinc, PGM, diamonds or other commodities, E&MJ takes the lead in projecting trends, following development and reporting on the most efficient operating pr

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 13 of 83

NEWS - PEOPLE IN THE NEWS 12 E&MJ • APRIL 2019 Newmont Mining Corp. announced the composition of Newmont Gold- corp's Executive Leadership Team following closing of the transac- tion which is expected in the second quarter. This includes Tom Palmer, president (effective June 1); Rob Atkinson, executive vice president and COO (effective June 1); Nancy Buese, ex- ecutive vice pres- ident and CFO; Jennifer Cmil, executive vice president, human resources (effective Q4 2019); Randy Engel, executive vice president, strategic development; Dean Gehring, executive vice president and chief technology offi cer (effective June 1); Steve Gottesfeld, executive vice president and chief sustainability and external affairs offi cer (effective June 1); Nancy Lipson, executive vice president and general counsel (effec- tive June 1); and Marcelo Godoy, senior vice president, exploration. Asanko Gold Inc. appointed Greg McCunn as CEO and director. Peter Breese, current president and CEO, will transition to the newly created po- sition of president and COO, and will remain a director. McCunn was previ- ously Asanko's CFO from 2011 to 2017. Anglo American plc announced the retirement of Norman Mbazima after 18 years. Mbazima will step down as deputy chairman of Anglo American South Africa on June 30. Corvus Gold Inc. appointed Ron Largent to the board of di- rectors and has assumed the role as chairman. Most recent- ly, Largent was COO-international for AngloGold Ashanti. Lydian International Ltd. announced that Douglas Tobler, CFO, will resign, effective June 14. Hastings Technology Metals Ltd. reappointed Guy Robertson as joint compa- ny secretary. Hidio Jackson has resigned as joint company secretary. Torq Resources Inc appointed Stacy Rowa as CFO and the resignation of Peter Rees as CFO and corporate secretary. Rowa has been with the company since 2016 serving as corporate controller. Jameson Resources Ltd. and its strategic investment partner, a subsidiary of Bathurst Resources Ltd., have appointed Mike Allen as project manager to drive the Crown Mountain Development. Hal Quinn, president and CEO of the National Mining As- sociation (NMA), will retire at the end of 2019. Quinn has served as president and chief executive offi cer for 11 years, the longest-tenured head of the organization, and another 23 years in various leadership roles within NMA and its pre- decessor organizations. Executive search fi rm Lochlin Part- ners has been retained to lead the search for his successor. Carly Leonida joined Engineering & Mining Journal as European editor. Global Mining Guidelines Group wel- comed a new vice chair, Kalev Ru- berg, former vice president of digital systems and CIO at Teck Resources Ltd. He has held the position of CIO with Teck since 2006. He was appointed vice president, digital systems, in 2017. Klas Forsström, president of the business area for Sandvik Machining Solu- tions, has decided to leave Sandvik to take on the position as president and CEO of Munters Group AB. Sergio Hernandez has been appointed the new executive Director of APRIMIN. He worked as executive vice president of the Chilean Copper Commission from 2014 to 2019. Be- fore that, he was deputy secretary of mining between 1994 and 1997, director and auditor of EMAIN, and director of Banco Internacional and some insurance companies. Hernández graduated from the Universidad de Chile, and he is a specialist on economy, tax law, mining law and corporate law. Normet has nominated Aaro Cantell as interim CEO. The intention is that Aaro will hold the position until a per- manent CEO is chosen. Robin Lindahl, current president and CEO, will step down. Austin Powder Co. announced that Jason F. Rawlings has joined the company as its new president. Rawlings succeeds Dave True, a 43-year veteran of company, who will continue to serve on the company's board of directors. Nordic Minesteel Technologies Inc. hired Pedro H. Dominguez as business development manager. Dominguez brings decades of international experience and relationships with him. CEEC appointed Mike Battersby chair of the board of di- rectors. Battersby has been a CEEC director since 2012. EvoQuip appointed Barry O'Hare to the position of EvoQuip international sales director. Most recently, he was Powerscreen regional sales manager. He commenced his role with EvoQuip in April. U.S. Gold Corp. appointed Ryan K. Zinke to the board of directors. He retired from active duty in the Navy in 2008 and was elected as a Montana state senator and later twice as Montana's member of the U.S. House of Representatives. In 2016, he was nominated by President Donald Trump to serve as the secretary of the interior. He resigned in 2019. Tom Palmer Rob Atkinson Jennifer Cmil Randy Engel Nancy Buese Dean Gehring Steve Gottesfeld Nancy Lipson Marcelo Godoy Greg McCunn Peter Breese Ron Largent Stacy Rowa Kalev Ruberg Sergio Hernandez Aaro Cantell Mike Battersby Jason F. Rawlings Hal Quinn Carly Leonida Ryan K. Zinke

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Engineering & Mining Journal - APR 2019