Engineering & Mining Journal

NOV 2017

Engineering and Mining Journal - Whether the market is copper, gold, nickel, iron ore, lead/zinc, PGM, diamonds or other commodities, E&MJ takes the lead in projecting trends, following development and reporting on the most efficient operating pr

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 13 of 83

NEWS - PEOPLE IN THE NEWS 12 E&MJ • NOVEMBER 2017 Lennart Evrell has decided to resign from the position as CEO for Boliden effective halfway through 2018. The recruitment of his successor will begin immediately. Compañia de Minas Buenaventura S.A.A. announced the retirement of Carlos Gálvez, vice president and CFO, after almost 40 years with the company. Leandro García, Bue- naventura's controller, will succeed Gálvez, effective December 1. Gálvez has served as Bue- naventura's vice president and CFO since 2001, when he was promoted from deputy manager of fi nance and information systems. Northern Dynasty Minerals Ltd. an- nounced that the Pebble Ltd. Part- nership has fi lled two senior technical positions to lead engineering design and regulatory permitting for south- west Alaska's Pebble project. Senior Vice President of Engineering and Project Director Stephen Hodgson will lead Pebble's engineering and project development team. Hodgson has led the engineering group at Northern Dynasty and Hunter Dickinson Inc. since 2005. He will be supported by Vice President of Permitting James Fueg. He was most recently seconded from Barrick Gold Corp. to serve as technical services manager for the Donlin Gold project. Condor Gold appointed Aiser Sarria as general manager Mina La India, Nicaragua. Sarria joins Condor Gold from B2Gold where he was the projects and mines superinten- dent at the El Limon gold mine, one of the largest operat- ing gold mines in Nicaragua. Adex Mining Inc. appointed Wong Kwok Keung to the board of directors fi lling a vacancy left by the resigna- tion of Joseph Lau Ying Kit. Separately, the company also appointed two new executive offi cers: Linda Lam Kwan as CEO and Olga Balanovskaya as CFO. Keung joined the board as a representative of Great Harvest Canadian In- vestment Co. Ltd. Lam Kwan previously served as interim CEO of the company from 2011 to 2012 and returns to that role in place of Yan Kim Po, who has served as interim CEO since 2012. Lam Kwan and Kim Po have served on the board of directors of the company since 2011 and both will remain on the board of directors. Balanovskaya assumes the role from Doug Bolton, who had served as interim CFO of the company since 2013. The Timken Co. named Eric Pressley vice president of sales of drives and belts. In addition, Dennis McCam- bridge, vice president of sales and marketing for Timken Belts, has announced his retirement. Black Dragon Gold Corp. appointed Jose Manuel Domin- guez Diez as general man- ager of the company's wholly owned subsidiary Exploraciones Mineras del Can- tabrico SL. Dominguez was formerly the general manager of Imerys in both Spain and Italy follow- ing a long career with Rio Tinto in various mana- gerial and technical roles in Spain. Camborne School of Mines (CSM) geologist Dr. Alan Bromley passed away at the age of 79. His career at CSM began in 1969. He was one of the pioneers of the then new discipline of process mineralogy, and one of the early geometallurgists. Bromley left CSM in 1991 to found Petrolab in Redruth, Cornwall. He sold the business to James Strongman in 2006. Metso made sev- eral new appoint- ments, including Mikko Keto as president, Min- erals Services business area. He is currently senior vice president, spare parts business line. Markku Simula has been appointed president, aggregates equipment business area. He is currently senior vice president, aggregates business line. Sami Takaluoma has been appointed president, minerals consumables business area. He is currently vice president, Nordics market area. All three business area presidents will be members of Metso's Executive Team. Paul White has been selected by the members of the International Copper Study Group, the International Lead and Zinc Study Group and the Interna- tional Nickel Study Group to serve as the new common secretary general of the three study groups. The current secretary general, Don Smale, will retire from the position on December 31. White is currently the director of market research and statistics at the International Lead and Zinc Study Group. The Board of the VDMA Construction Equipment and Building Material Machinery Association unanimously elected Franz-Josef Paus, executive director of Hermann Paus Maschinenfabrik GmbH in Emsbüren, as their new chairman for the next three years during their General Assembly in Düsseldorf. During the 2017 International Mines Rescue Body (IMRB) meeting, which was held recently in Moscow, Russia, medals were bestowed by EMERCOM (The Ministry of the Russian Federation for Civil Defense, Emer- gencies and Elimination of Consequences of Natural Disasters) to people who make or have made exceptional, notable work for rescue services and rescuers on the global scale. The recognition (translated from Russian di- rectly) is "for commonwealth in the name of rescue," or in this case for the mutual international work and friendship that contribute to the activities of rescue services and rescuers. The medal recipients (from left to right) are: Steve Tonegato, New South Wales operations manager for Australia's Mines Rescue Pty Ltd. Tonegato runs one of the best mine rescue stations in the world. Stanislav Paulik, Slovakian director for the Central Mine Rescue Sta- tion HBZS. Paulik runs one of the most experienced mine rescue services in Europe. Christo de Klerk, CEO (now entering retirement) for South Afri- ca's Mines Rescue Services. De Klerk developed sophisticated technology of rescuing miners via deep shafts and boreholes. Kent Armstrong, global business development manager segment mining for Draeger Safety Canada Ltd. Armstrong has used his extensive experience of U.S. and Ontario Mine Rescue Services to develop mine rescue programs in many countries around the globe. Alex Gryska, also from Canada, serves as the IMRB secretary treasurer. He is personally responsible for several successful international mine rescue events. Stefan Dräger, CEO, Drägerwerk AG & Co., was also recognized for his service and the company's support, but he was not on hand to accept the medal. The medals were presented at the Grand Palace of museum-reserve Tsaritsyno in Moscow. Lennart Evrell Carlos Gálvez Stephen Hodgson James Fueg Aiser Sarria Linda Lam Kwan Mikko Keto Markku Simula Sami Takaluoma Eric Pressley Franz-Josef Paus Medal Recipients: Steve Tonegato, Stanislav Paulik, Christo de Klerk, Kent Armstrong and Alex Gryska.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Engineering & Mining Journal - NOV 2017